Easy way to calculate squares of (even) very large numbers

I am a number freak in a sense. I like statistics – the trivia of everyday life. I remember an interesting trick that I self discovered while reading algebra when I was 12. For a long time, I thought I discovered this trick. Then one day (much later) I found out that the trick was a corollary to a well known algebraic formula for computing squares of the form (a+b)^2.

The finding notwithstanding, I find this formula quite handy. An easy way to calculate squares of (even) very large numbers without using the pen.

Leave a Reply

